Hurtta “Bounty Bag” Treat Pouch

Hurtta North America sent us a box of goodies to try, including their new-this-season Bounty Bag, a serious treat pouch designed for trainers. 

Price: $50

Sizing and colors:¬†Granite gray with orange accents in¬†one size with 4dL capacity. If you’re looking for something smaller, they offer¬†a “trick pocket” that holds half the volume,¬†and if you want a full-service waist pack, try the¬†Action Belt, which is much bigger with several pockets.¬†

Hurtta has a full line of training-oriented products, including the Trainer’s Vest we have been loving, as well as several treat pouches, their bowl and canicross belt. Their gear seems to be heavily used by people who do shows, agility and other dog sports, but it’s all very versatile and the Bounty Bag is perfect¬†for hiking, park trips and running errands – I even caught my fianc√© wearing it one time when I met him and Robin outside¬†the grocery store after work. We’ve tried two other treat bags – Deluxe Training Pouch from P.L.A.Y. and a super basic gray one¬†from Petco. The Bounty Bag is a class above – the only feature I¬†miss from the P.L.A.Y. bag is the built-in squeaker.

20161210-dsc_0990-sunsetpeak
Working on our high fives with a view. Photo by Jamie @hikinggirlwithdog.

Construction: 4.5/5

Like everything Hurtta we’ve tried so far, the Bounty Bag is made for performance.¬†It’s lightweight and¬†constructed of tough materials – a structured outer shell with printed reflectors and reflective piping, a slick, removable¬†liner, and¬†¬†double-layer mesh closure. It comes in only one color, but it’s gender neutral and I like it – it’s clean and unobtrusive. There’s a front pocket that’s exactly the right size for my phone (Samsung S7 Edge) and features¬†a poop bag dispenser port.¬†It can be worn with its sleek¬†waist belt or with its attached back clip, which is low-profile and not cumbersome when not in use. It could also be threaded onto a different belt, but the loops aren’t elastic¬†and aren’t wide enough for a backpack hip belt. I’d actually love if it had a second pocket on the back (for the phone, or for keys and poop bags since¬†the front pocket is a choose-one size).

As with the Trainer’s Vest, the Bounty Bag’s¬†most unique¬†feature is its¬†removable liner – after using sticky, smelly or wet treats, you can simply pull out the velcroed-in liner and wash it separately without having to wash the whole bag.¬†I may be particularly fussy about this, but the liner doesn’t cover the ENTIRE inside of the pouch – it starts about 1″ down. It generally doesn’t bother me since I feed jerky and freeze-dried meat, but if I used anything wetter, I’d probably¬†insert a plastic bag just to be safe.

Treats are contained by the double-layer mesh top, which opens and closes smoothly via an elastic cord and toggle. I really like that the pouch can close fully without puckering up the outside shell the way some pouches do, but I wish the cord was long enough to¬†fully open up the mesh. I’d like to be able to¬†fold it over the edges of the bag when loading up treats and when removing the liner, since the mesh is a bit snaggy and tends to get caught by my¬†homemade jerky¬†and the velcro edges of the liner. Personally, I’d prefer a solid fabric top so I could toss the whole thing into Robin’s gear trunk (I know) without worrying about treat dust, but¬†the mesh is surprisingly effective at containing even very small treats, even when partially open for easy access. (The closure is¬†not Xena proof though (see below), so if you have a Xena in your life, guard that mesh opening! If the toggle had been fully closed, I think Xena would have had a more frustrating time eating half my treat stock in one bite.)

20161210-20161210_110816-sunsetpeak
Thief. Photo by Jamie @hikinggirlwithdog

So far, we’ve washed the liner twice and the whole bag, liner included, once (after an outing with fish treats). The bag is in perfect shape. The liner, however, started to show very slight¬†bubbling in its waterproofing¬†(which is on the side that doesn’t touch the¬†treats) sometime between the first and second washings. I reported the issue to Hurtta and it was the first report of this problem,¬†but they are looking into the issue. The fabric itself is water-resistant without the coating, so even if I used wet or sticky treats, I wouldn’t be too concerned, but I’ll be¬†keeping an eye on it.

Fit: 5/5

The Bounty Bag¬†fits me great – I’m toward the small end of waists that would fit, but it could go about 3″ smaller and would be easy to modify if needed. The size feels exactly right- just big enough to fit my phone, and the right amount of treats for a hike with one or two other dogs, but not so large that it competes with my pack’s waist belt or looks “big”.¬†The structured shape of the bag coupled with the snug loops on the back create a very secure fit and keep the treats from jostling around much, even when running.

Function: 4.5/5 

When hiking, I love having a secure spot to put my phone Рit makes me more likely to check in with family and track the trail (LA friends, check out our trail map!) Previously, it went in the lid of my pack, which I can reach only with an extreme contortion, so typically just stayed in there the whole hike. Additionally, Robin is pretty pleased that I now regularly carry treats.

I tend to wear the bag pretty snug, and one downside of the secure belt attachment method plus the phone being in the front pocket is that it curves the bag¬†securely to my hip, which narrows the opening, making it¬†harder to take out a handful at once. It’s not a problem if I just need one treat, but I do notice it when the whole pack is gathered around.

Value: 4/5

Like pretty much everything Hurtta makes, the Bounty Bag is not inexpensive, but it’s very durable and thoughtfully designed. If you need a performance treat pouch, this is it and it’s definitely worth the price. If you don’t carry treats, or if your coat pocket is already working well for you, it may not be worth the¬†investment. Oddly, the Action Belt, which has a different design but lots more space, is significantly cheaper, so if you’re looking for a full service waist pack that may be worth a look. However, this is a¬†top-of-the-line training pouch with a good mixture of looks and functionality, and it’s perfect for carrying¬†treats and essentials during¬†training, and outings, and the perfect supplement to a daypack when hiking with your dog.

20161023-dsc_0880-bighornmine_fromjamie
Robin cannot contain his excitement. Photo by Jamie @hikinggirlwithdog

Overall: 4.5/5

I reach for the Bounty Bag every time we head out on a hike or park trip. This is a best-in-class treat bag- it’s durable, sizable and functional without being bulky or cheesy, and it’s the perfect complement to my pack to keep treats, poop bags and my phone near at hand. Highly recommended for anyone looking to add functionality to their hiking setup or for an easy way to carry the basics when out and about with your pup.

Best for: Hikers, backpackers, trainers and anyone who spends a good bit of time outside with their dog.

Not ideal for:¬†Casual dog walking or people who don’t frequently do treat training (expensive), long training trips without a backpack (a full waist pack¬†with water bottle and more pockets would work better).

4 Comments Add yours

  1. JessicaRhaeW says:

    I have my eye on that. I’d like to check it out.

    Like

    1. You’re going to love it!

      Like

  2. I love mine! ūüôā Great view as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great pictures ūüėČ

      Like

Leave a Reply

